How Could Hell Be Any Worse? is the first full-length album released by Bad Religion, which was released on January 19, 1982. Released almost a year after their self-titled EP, it was financed by a $1,000 loan by guitarist Brett Gurewitz’s father. Its success surprised the band when it sold 10,000 copies in under a year.

With this album a fuse was lit, leading to an explosion that spawned a new religion: Bad Religion. This, their second record and first LP is nothing short of genius. Shattered-glass guitar riffs, fast, furious drums, and a 16 year old Greg Graffin’s voice for the ages. The coalescence of lyrical intellect and savage music make for a sound seldom (if ever) heard before. The impact of this record still resonates to this day. Classic tracks like “Fuck Armageddon…This Is Hell,” “American Dream,” and “The Voice Of God Is Government” are as crucial and socially lucid as the day they were created in a southern California garage. When the greatest punk records of all-time are discussed, How Could Hell Be Any Worse is sure to be mentioned.

How Could Hell Be Any Worse? (1982)
1 We’re Only Gonna Die 2:13
2 Latch Key Kids 1:38
3 Part III 1:49
4 Faith In God 1:51
5 Fuck Armageddon… This Is Hell 2:49
6 Pity 2:01
7 In The Night 3:25
8 Damned To Be Free 2:21
9 White Trash (Second Generation) 1:58
10 American Dream 1:42
11 Eat Your Dog 1:05
12 Voice Of God Is Government 2:54
13 Oligarchy 1:01
14 Doin’ Time 3:01

Label: Epitaph Records – E-6407-1
Barcode: 8714092640731