Two Sevens Clash is the debut album by roots reggae band Culture, recorded with producer Joe Gibbs at his own Joe Gibbs Recording Studio in Kingston in 1976, and released on Gibbs’ eponymous label in 1977. The album’s title is a reference to the date of 7 July 1977. Singer Joseph Hill said Two Sevens Clash was based on a prediction by Marcus Garvey, who said there would be chaos on 7 July 1977, when the “sevens” met. With its apocalyptic message, the song created a stir in his Caribbean homeland and many Jamaican businesses and schools closed for the day.

“Just a few words about this 2017 40th Anniversary release of the classic “Two Sevens Clash” album.

This is one of the greatest albums ever released by a Jamaican vocal trio and one of the best albums ever released in the Jamaican reggae genre. Culture, with leader Joseph Hill, is one of the best vocal trios from Jamaica. Just listen to the harmonies and you’ll understand. Chances are if you’re reading this you already own either the stand alone album and/or the 2007 release on the Shenachie label (with nice packaging and a great booklet) , so no review of the album is necessary.

This 2017 set includes the original album and the extra tracks found on the Shenachie release, but also has a few more extra tracks that flesh out the music even more. While the original album can stand on its own as a classic, it’s nice to have even more good music that incorporates rhythms from the original album. Produced by Joe Gibbs and engineered by Errol Thompson, musicians include Sly Dunbar, Lloyd Parks, Franklin Waul, Bingy Bunny, Robbie Shakespeare, Sticky, Herman Marquis, Vin Gordon, Tommy McCook, and Bobby Ellis. These guys had “it” and laid down some very fine rhythms for Culture to sing over.

The sound is very good–clean and open–similar to the 2007 issue. The booklet has an essay by filmmaker Don Letts, a track list, and photos of the group. The wallet style cardboard packaging has slots for each disc and the booklet, plus a list of musicians, and Joe Gibbs’ original liner notes.

It’s still amazing to think that in July of ’77, with Garvey’s prophecy of doom, parts of Jamaica came to a standstill. And this album lays it all out with beautiful harmonies and fine instrumental backing.

Top 20 reggae album of all-time – MOJO Magazine

A1 Culture– Calling Rasta For I
A2 Culture– I’m Alone In The Wilderness
A3 Culture– Pirate Days
A4 Culture– Two Sevens Clash
A5 Culture– I’m Not Ashamed
B1 Culture– Get Ready To Ride The Lion To Zion
B2 Culture– Black Starliner Must Come
B3 Culture– Jah Pretty Face
B4 Culture– See Them A Come
B5 Culture– Natty Dread Taking Over
C1 Culture & Mr. Bojangles– Two Sevens Clash / Prophecy Reveal
C2 The Mighty Two– FulFillment
D1 Culture & I Roy*– I’m Not Ashamed / Under Tight Wraps
D2 The Mighty Two– I’m Not Ashamed Version
E1 Culture & Prince Weedy– See Them A Come / Mask Mi Mask
E2 Culture– Informer
E3 The Mighty Two– Informer Version
E4 Joe Gibbs & The Professionals– State Of Emergency
E5 Shorty The President– Natty Pass His GCE
F1 Culture & I Roy*– Natty Dread Taking Over / Invasion
F2 Joe Gibbs & The Professionals– Natty Gone Clear
(VP Records/17 North Parade/Joe Gibbs Record Globe)