Mogwai release their new album ‘Atomic’ via Rock Action. The album is composed of reworked versions of the music recorded for the soundtrack to director Mark Cousin’s acclaimed documentary Atomic: Living In Dread and Promise, which first aired on BBC Four last summer. Constructed entirely of archive film, ‘Atomic’ is an impressionistic kaleidoscope of the horrors of our nuclear times – protest marches, Cold War sabre-rattling, Chernobyl and Fukishima – but also the sublime beauty of the atomic world, and how x-rays and MRI scans have improved human lives. Mogwai’s soundtrack encapsulates the nightmare of the nuclear age, but its dreamlike qualities too. It is the latest in the band’s series of impressive soundtracks and scores, following acclaimed albums ‘Les Revenants’ (The Returned) and ‘Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait’.
Music from the film ‘Atomic’, a Hopscotch Films/Crossover Production directed by Mark Cousins.
Black vinyl version. Issued in a gatefold sleeve with download code

All songs by Mogwai. Published by Kobalt Music Publishing/Tomorrow Hits
Recorded, produced and mixed at Castle Of Doom Studios, Glasgow
Design & layout by dlt
(Rock Action Records/2016)