The Ethiopians are one of the great vocal groups to come out of Jamaica. Lenard Dillon, (b. 9 December, 1942, Port Antonio, Jamaica) the founding member of The Ethiopians, began his singing career at Clement “Coxonne” Dodd’s Studio One. Initially he recorded under the name of Jack Sparrow, and backed by The Wailers, cutting “Ice Water” and “Suffering in the Land.” Under The Wailers’ encouragement, he went on to form his own vocal group, recruiting singers Stephan Taylor and Aston “Charlie” Morris to become The Ethiopians. They cut “Live Good,” “Why You Gonna Leave Me Now” and “Owe Me No Pay Me.” Although receiving favorable response, Aston Morris decided to leave the band and the remaining pair carried on and cut “‘I’m a Free Man” and “Don Dead Already” and “For You.” On meeting contract builder Leebert Robertson, a session was booked for Treasure Isle Studios. The session produced their seminal “Train to Skaville” track, which became an immediate hit in Jamaica and in the UK in 1967, reaching #40 in the charts. They also cut “Engine 54,” which became the title of their debut album. Its follow-up “I Need You/Do It Sweet,” did not fare so well and the band moved over to Sonia Pottinger’s stable, where they cut “The Whip/Cool It Amigo” which revived their fortunes and proved another big hit for the band. This release includes the full Slave Call set, “Ethiopian National Anthem,” “Slave Call,” “Guilty Conscience,” “Hurry On,” “Culture,” “Obeah Book,” “Let It Be,” and “I Love Jah,” alongside some of the band’s early hits including the original version of “Train to Skaville,” “Engine 54,” “Everything Crash,” “Reggae Hit the Town,” and “The Selah.” An interesting set to remind us what a great group The Ethiopians really were.
180 gram vinyl.

A1 Train To Skaville (Original Version)
A2 Engine 54
A3 Come On Now
A4 Everything Crash
A5 Ethiopian National Anthem
A6 Guilty Conscience
A7 Hurry On
B1 Reggae Hit The Town
B2 Culture
B3 Obeah Book
B4 Love Jah
B5 The Selah
B6 Need Someone
B7 Slave Call
(Kingston Sounds)