This is the new digitally remastered 2015 expanded edition of Soul Jazz Records’ biggest ever selling release, 100% Dynamite!Ska, Soul, Rocksteady and Funk in Jamaica.

Since the album’s original release nearly twenty years ago, 100% Dynamite has become a cornerstone of reggae: eighteen killer tracks that show the influence that American Jazz, Funk and Soul music had on Jamaican Reggae.

The proximity of the West Indies to the USA meant that many Jamaican musicians were influenced by American styles of music whilst at the same time defining new styles of their own such as Ska, Rocksteady and Dub.

100% Dynamite features some serious Jamaican funk by Jackie Mittoo, The Upsetters and Toots & The Maytals, the cream of Jamaica’s jazz musicians such as Tommy McCook, Cedric Brooks and LennieHibbert. Also included here are heavyweight Reggae versions to Soul classics by Marlena Shaw’s ‘Woman of the Ghetto’, Aretha Franklin’s ‘Rocksteady’, Syl Johnson’s ‘Is It Because I’m Black’, William DeVaughan’s seminal ‘Be Thankful’ and more.

100% Dynamite also features revolutionary tunes such as Johnny Osbourne’s ‘We Need Love’, Sound Dimension’s ‘Drum Song’ and Lloyd Robinson’s ‘Cuss Cuss’, songs that helped define a unique sound for Jamaican music in the sixties and seventies.

These influences went both ways – check Brentford All Stars massive ‘Greedy G’, the basis for Boogie Down Productions’ ‘Jack of Spades’, or Willie Williams’ ‘Armageddon Time’, later covered by The Clash.

This new expanded edition features seminal tracks from the greatest Jamaican producers – Clement Dodd, Lee Perry, Winston Riley (Techniques) and many more.


A1 Willie Williams* Armagideon Time 2:32
A2 Toots & The Maytals Night And Day 2:49
A3 The Marvels Rock Steady 2:32
A4 The Upsetters Popcorn 2:32
A5 Bunny Clarke Be Thankful 2:32
B1 Tommy McCook Green Mango 3:41
B2 Brentford All-Stars* Greedy G 3:38
B3 Lennie Hibbert Real Hot 2:27
B4 Horace Andy My Soul 2:30
B5 Johnny Osbourne We Need Love 3:37
C1 Bunny Brown I Love The Way You Love 2:31
C2 Jackie Mittoo Stereo Freeze 3:06
C3 Phyllis Dillon Woman Of The Ghetto 3:22
C4 Cedric Brooks* Give Rasta Glory 4:22
C5 Alton Ellis Son Of Man 2:40
D1 Sound Dimension Granny Scratch Scratch 3:57
D2 Lloyd Robinson Cuss Cuss 6:24
D3 Sound Dimension Drum Song 4:23
D4 Ken Boothe Is It Because I’m Black? 3:51

(Soul Jazz Records/2015)