This collection of 16 tracks from the Flying Dutchman label were recorded from 1969 to 1974 and combine Spiritual jazz and protest songs from a revolutionary time. Blacks And Blues ‘Toast To The People’ is an unreleased early Gil Scott Heron song (later re-recorded), Bob Thiele Emergency ‘Lament For John Coltrane a hauntingly beautiful tribute to the great man ft Joe Farrell on flute. Lonnie Liston Smith ‘Sais (Egypt)’, Ornette Coleman ‘Friends and Neighbors’ , Gato Barbieri ‘Tupac Amaru’ and Norweigen’s Esoteric Circle ‘Nefertite’ deep spiritual jazz. Angela Davis, H Rap Brown and Carl b Stokes provide some spoken word protest songs. Music for the mind.

01. Angela Davis – We’re Threatening The Oppressors
02. Gil Scott-Heron – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
03. Black And Blues – Toast To The People
04. Louis Armstrong With Leon Thomas – The Creator Has A Master Plan
05. Bob Thiele Emergency – Lament For John Coltrane
06. Carl B Stokes With The Oliver Nelson Orchestra – Sit Down
07. Ornette Coleman – Friends And Neighbors
08. H Rap Brown – Excerpt From Speech #2:Do Your Own Thing
09. Leon Thomas – Echoes
10. The Esoteric Circle – Nefertite
11. Gato Barbieri – Tupac Amaru
12. The Oliver Nelson Orchestra – Martin Was A Man, A Real Man
13. Carl B Stokes With The Oliver Nelson Orchestra – Paint It Black
14. Chico Hamilton – Gonna Get Some Right Now
(Tiger Archives Records)