Raw Records was one of the UK’s first ever independent labels, having been formed in 1977 by Lee Wood. This was the second compilation they issued in early 1978 following up the ‘Raw Deal!’ album (Damgood 209). This reissue includes 4 bonus tracks including the ultra rare ‘Into the 80’s’ by The Now.
16 of the label’s best tracks feature here alongside a comprehensive discography of one of the most important but vastly underrated indie labels of our time. Bands such as The Users, Killjoys, Lockjaw and The Unwanted later provided members for the likes of The Cure, Psychedelic Furs, UK Subs and Dexy’s Midnight Runners whilst the scarcity of Raw’s releases made them highly prized collectors’ items. Two Soft Boys tracks from one of the rarest Raw singles fetaure here, unavailable elsewhere.
Essential listening for any an Killeded by Death/Bloodstains Across.


A1 The Unwanted Withdrawal / 1984
A2 The Users Sick Of You
A3 The Killjoys Johnny Wont Get To Heaven
A4 Some Chicken New Religion
A5 The Gorillas It’s My Life
A6 The Soft Boys Wading Through A Ventilator
A7 Lockjaw Journalist Jive
A8 Acme Sewage Co. I Wish You Dead
B1 The Killjoys Naive
B2 The Hammersmith Gorillas* You Really Got Me
B3 Downliners Sect Showbiz
B4 Some Chicken Arabian Daze
B5 Lockjaw The Young Ones
B6 The Soft Boys Hear My Brane
B7 The Unwanted I’m Not Me
B8 The Now (4) Into The 80’s

(Damaged Goods Records)