With excellent sleevenotes by Lloyd Bradley (author of the classic book Bass Culture – When Reggae Was King (Penguin)) this album is dedicated to rocksteady at Studio One as well as covering reggae soul and the birth of reggae.

Featuring an all-star selection of artists: Ken Boothe, Marcia Griffiths, Jackie Mittoo, The Heptones, John Holt, Alton Ellis, Dennis Brown and more.

Soul Jazz Records’ Studio One Rocksteady is released as a heavyweight double-vinyl edition in deluxe strong gatefold sleeve (with full sleeve notes and free download code) and also as a digital download.

“A Superb choice of songs, an essential selection” David Rodigan

“Soul Jazz’s excellent collection… even without the history, the importance, and the ins and outs, this music isn’t as much of an intellectual pursuit as it is a pleasure in every note… tremendously tight vocal arrangements… just chock full of creativity, developing a unique sound in every single.” Pitchfork

“This stunning compile… perfectly articulates rocksteady’s correlation with sweet, sweet soul music… Heart-warming, life-affirming stuff.” Stack Magazine, Australia

“Songs of love and lust had never channelled such a rich slice of cultural and social life as here” Wire Magazine

“Splendid anthology” Rock & Folk, France

“First class compilation for connoisseurs.” SKUG Magazine, Austria

A1 –The Eternals Stars
A2 –John Holt Fancy Make Up
A3 –Cecile Campbell Whisper To Me
A4 –The Heptones Party Time
A5 –The Gaylads Joy In The Morning
B1 –Marcia Griffiths My Ambition
B2 –The Heptones Love Won’t Come Easy
B3 –Alton Ellis Hurting Me
B4 –Wailing Souls Row Fisherman Row
C1 –Ken Boothe Home, Home, Home
C2 –Jackie Mittoo Our Thing
C3 –Ken Boothe When I Fall In Love
C4 –Larry & Alvin Throw Me Corn
C5 –Duke Morgan Lick It Back
D1 –Carlton And The Shoes Me And You
D2 –Dennis Brown Easy Take It Easy
D3 –The Classics (12) Pack Up
D4 –Ken Boothe Moving Away
(Soul Jazz Records)